Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

fountainMichael S. Fountain, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Doctor of Philosophy, 1977, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV.
Emphasis: Forest Resource Science
Dissertation: Holistic Approach to Oak Site Index Prediction and Site Classification in North-Central West Virginia

Master of Science, 1972, Stephen F. Austin State University
Empasis: Forest Recreation Management
Thesis: Impact of Surface Water Impoundments on the Recreational Preferences of Central East Texas Residents

Bachelor of Science; 1970, Stephen F. Austin State University
Major: Forestry

Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, Stephen F. Austin State University
1/2000 - present: Laurence C. Walker Distinguished Professor
9/1993 - 1/2000: Professor, Arthur Temple College of Forestry
9/1987 - 9/1993: Associate Professor, College of Forestry
1/1981 - 9/1987: Assistant Professor, School of Forestry
1/1975 - 1/1976: Instructor
9/1972 - 8/1974: Instructor
9/1970 - 8/1972: Graduate Teaching Assistant

School of Forest Resources, University of Arkansas-Monticello
12/1977-1/1981: Assistant Professor

West Virginia University
1/1976-11/1977: Graduate Research and Teaching Assistant

U.S. Forest Service, Plumas National Forest
8/1974-12/1974: Forest Technician

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
5/1970-9/1970, Field Interviewer

Society of American Foresters; Maintained active Membership since 1972.
     Fellow 2007

Certified Forester #1237;       

      Vice-Chairman - Student Chapter @ SFASU 1970;

      Secretary/Treasurer and Vice-Chairman  Southeast Arkansas Group; 

      Chairman of Arkansas Chapter's Forester Fund Committee; 

       Chairman of Ozark Section Natural Areas Committee;

Secretary/Treasurer and Chairman of Arkansas Chapter; 

Ozark Section Representative to Silviculture Working Group;

Delegate for Ozark Section to House of Society Delegates at 1980 National Convention;

Member of Silviculture Instructors Subgroup of Silviculture Working Group

Vice-Chairman and Chairman of Lufkin/Nacogdoches Chapter of Texas SAF;      

Secretary of Texas SAF. 

Registered Professional Forester in Arkansas (RF#215)  1979-1995

Texas Forestry Association Board of Directors

Texas Forestry Museum Board of Directors

Forest Landowners Association

Faculty sponsor for Sylvans Forestry Club since 1981.

Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities - 1969

Xi Sigma Pi Forestry Honor Fraternity

Society of Sigma Xi

Phi Kappa Phi - 1977

1990-91: Selected as Recipient of "Students Choice for Outstanding Faculty Member" in the School of Forestry.

1997: Received Award from U.S. Forest Service for Meritorious Contributions to National Forests in Texas resulting from Testimony

 in Court Cases over an 11 year period.

1996: Selected as Recipient of Teaching Excellence Award for College of Forestry; Nominated for University Award.

2004: Selected as Recipient of Teaching Excellence Award for College ofForestry; Nominated for University Award.

2008: Selected as the 2008 Recipient of the SFA Alumni Association's Distinguished Professor Award